To you I say:

I haven’t written in awhile, but I was recently encouraged by someone I love to get started again so here it goes:

I know I wrote an entire blog about complainers and what complainers complain about so please don’t believe that I have started down the long and windy one-way road of whining. I just believe that what I would like to address is more of a “standing up for what I believe in” rather than a “so here’s what I don’t like.”

In my Media in a Diverse Society, you can imagine that we cover a very wide range of topics. Racism, sexism, religion, government, and of course: war. Now it is obvious that I lean to the patriotic side. (Understatement perhaps?) Of course I will take the side of whatever is best for our soldiers, so please don’t believe I “support war.” War is deadly to soldiers. At its core war is about DESTROYING your enemy so that your interests can be accomplished. In the same sense, the enemy is going to try to DESTROY you in order to accomplish their interests. So going to war is not the very best thing for our soldiers. So when people see me in my uniform and assume that I am a pro-war-chest-beating-“I hate everyone who isn’t American”-crazy woman, it’s almost humorous to me because the whole point of becoming an officer for me was so that I can take care of my soldiers.

That said, every soldier has made a promise to “obey the orders of those appointed over me.” So when an officer, or our government says, “You go.” A soldier picks up his weapon, gathers his men, and goes. In that case, my primary mission as an officer is to accomplish the mission while keeping my soldiers safe, secure, stable, and get them back home.

It really grinds my gears to hear the remarks of some that I come into contact with. It isn’t the people who accuse us of being “baby killers” or the ones who say we “use old people for target practice” who get under my skin, it is the people who look at me and say “You just want to get your part,” or “You just want to have your piece of the war.”

No. I just want to be a good officer. I just want to get my guys back home safely. I just want to provide guidance and good leadership so that my soldiers can be more confident and more effective people. I want to take care of your friends and your loved ones who answered the call.

We’re just trying to help here, so go hug a tree.

 

(hateful, ya.)

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

