A resilient person.

Today is mainly about resiliency.

What does that word mean to you?

To me it reminds me of great people I admire, like my parents, my grandparents, members of my church who have suffered the loss of loved ones and so on.

The word reminds me of a quote that my daddy instilled in me at a very young age. “Don’t let yourself be a victim. It is your choice to be the victim of this situation.”

That quote has brought me through the toughest of times as I’ve learned to live it and let it guide my mood and motivation.

That simple saying says this: Don’t let life dictate your happiness. Don’t let others who are depending on you see you down. Don’t let a situation decide your future for you, that is up to you. It says that my life is in my hands and what I do next is up to me, not chance or circumstance. When life fights you, fight harder.

Really, it comes down to choice. Today I choose to make a difference in my life and the lives of others. I am not the victim. Life is too beautiful for that.

This is fresh on my mind because of a brief that I just gave for Major Mahoney’s class. It was all about attributes of an effective Army leader. I was inspired when doing research on the word and definition of the word resiliency. When I typed into my trusty “Google search engine” the words “resilient pictures” I did not expect what I saw next. A simple pattern popped up in the images bar: didgicam. Yes, the material that make up the uniform that I am so honored to wear is synonymous with the word resiliency. I took a moment to process what I saw and the weight of my commitment sank in. Google, and the American public see my uniform and the person wearing it as something and someone who they can put their trust in to never quit, and to never be victimized. My uniform is something that never stays down when it is knocked down, and never feels sorry for itself. It is a column of strength to look at and it is a clear and vibrant representation of the soldiers of the past who were willing to make the same sacrifice.

So here is my promise to myself and those who look at my uniform and find hope: I won’t ever quit. I will never stop moving forward. I will never take for granted the trust that others have in me to do the job right. I will never let my team, my family, or my country become the victim of a situation.

Resiliency. It’s a choice, and it’s the most important one you can make for yourself.

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

