So I guess we’re growing up.

On my first visit home since July this weekend, I was in heaven. My mom had put fresh sheets on my trusty twin sized mattress that I’ve slept on since I was 3. She had made brownies and a great meal for my family to eat while watching football. My gram and grandad let me pick the restaurant and had a prize for Halloween for me. My little sis and I worked on a poster for her fourth grade book report. Mom made us paint on a covered surface of course, and my brother and I laughed like there was no tomorrow. I didn’t have to set an alarm and I didn’t have anything to pay for or clean.

In a sense, I was a kid again. Back to school.

Facebook is clutteed with my HS friends and their CHILDREN. My electric bill is due along with two papers and a project. Welcome to reality.

I want to start appreciating where I am when I’m there. I hated nap time in Kindergarten, now I get offended when someone texts me during a nap. I used to beg my mom to the point of tears to pay for my own things at Wal-mart, now the gratitude of someone buying me groceries brings me to tears. It makes me sad when people can only wish their life is different. Each stage is a chapter in our book of life.

Dive in. Enjoy today for what it is and donate to my grocery fund.

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So I guess we’re growing up.

  1. Phyllis Thompson says:

    Emily I loved your story, and it is so true! You need to explain to Cody the concept of letting some one do somthing for you just because he does not get it! Nana

Leave a Reply

