My Generation

Folks from “the greatest generation” look on my generation and shake their heads. Baby boomers see young people as hoodlums running amuk, forgetting their roots. Former 80s rock and rollers see their children and ask where their generation went wrong in raising us.

We’ve been called “The Technology Generation” because apparently our thumbs are always “txtng.” Our bodies as assumed are always infront of a TV screen growing morbidly obese from lack of excercise and terrible food choices.

That’s how you see us isn’t it? Where has the hope gone for today’s youth?

You want to know how I see us? How I look at my generation?

We make up the largest standing volunteer Army, Navy, Air Force and Marine Corps this nation has ever sponsored. The recruiting stations are filled to the brim with young Americans who only want to serve alongside their former classmates and friends. Basic training facilities across the country have WAITING LISTS because they are not big enough to send all the new recruits the military is bulging at the seams with at one time.

Why? One solitary event from our childhood sprang us into action. Ripped at the very seams of our nation only to bind it back stronger and raise up a military who will never forger September 11.

As a fourth grade girl in a small Oklahoma town the attacks, you would think, would seem very far away from me. You would think that I wouldn’t know what was going on around me, what the attacks truly meant. But something happened inside me, as in many 4th, 5th, and 6th grade boys and girls alike: we knew that we would never forget. The look of fear and confusion on our parents faces insured that we wouldn’t forget how a “terrorist” ripped a hole not only in a tower, but in the God given right to feel secure in our country. We knew that we would do everything we could possibly do to keep that freedom to security for our families, friends, teachers, and home.

We just keep on volunteering. That’s what we do. Yes, we were kids in a time of war. That’s not something that “ruined” our mindset about the world. As children, we knew and know what we must do for our nation.

This we will defend. We are, as Vice President Joe Biden so aptly named us, “The 9/11 Generation.”

http://abcnews.go.com/US/September_11/sept-11-america-marks-10th-anniversary-911-attacks/story?id=14481689

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

