Can I Complain for a Second Here?

Complaining is a nasty, nasty habit that is learned at an early age.

When a 2 year old is paraded around a grocery store in the front of a shopping cart by her mother, and she sees her favorite brightly colored cereal that her mother doesn’t want to invest in, mayhem breaks loose. “Pwease, pwease, pwease!” begged in the most yearning voice possible.

“No sweetie not today.” momma replies.

“BUT MOUM!” complains the child. It’s natural.

I guess we think it helps something. It makes others aware of our frustration. What do we believe will result in others knowing our issues?

1. It may get us some sympathy. Someone might break out their tiny violin and make us feel like our problems are real and just as big as we think they are.

2. Misery loves company. Maybe if complaining can make others angry, frustrated, or annoyed with us, we will feel like we are entitled to feel the way we feel.

Do we hope that things will change for us and begin getting better? No, we know that just sitting around whining about our day to day won’t get anything accomplished. But we do it. We do it out of habit, and maybe even necessity. Our culture generally tells us that we have a right to feel the way we feel. We have a right to voice when we are uncomfortable. Maybe we get good at complaining because we see our leaders do it so well. We take an innate instinct and put it on steroids by doing it constantly.

So here I am, complaining about complaining. Like I said, it’s both instinctual and something that I’m intensifying by putting it on my blog. Now that I’m started, here’s a small list of the many irritating things that I have nobody to complain about to:

*I hate it when people complain about the small stuff in life.

*STOP SMACKING.

*I’m not a fan of the words custard, moist, or woobie.

*Students on Library Lawn, PLEASE stop trying to make me into a vegetarian. I like steak: end of story.

*Dear people of Thailand, just because you’re over 5’6″ doesn’t mean you’re a man.

*And finally, would everybody please stop complaining?

“Walk like a champion, play like a man, and always behave like a lady.”- Jari Askins

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

