Just dealing with it.

It’s a normal thing for me to look around and think to myself: “How did we get here?” (we because I need an assistant pretty much constantly…even if it is myself)  But this week has tested the “just deal with it” attitude that I have come to adopt so well.

It all started Monday when my car got towed from a parking spot that I’m paying for. Yes, I have a sticker on my dashboard, and a receipt on file, but somehow an angry resident and an angry, broke tow man found my absence grounds to hide my car and keep it hostage. So I located my car in Stillwater (the great metropolis that it is) and set to work getting it back. I showed up expecting to drive away in my trusty Cobalt when the man with mystical looking gray skin gruffly informed me that I’m not going anywhere in my car because the fact that I have a drivers license and proof of insurance isn’t enough to convince him that I actually own the car. So while my dad worked to get the tribe on faxing my vehicle registration, I attempted to start my week.

Ranger Challenge is back in full swing, so through the cramping forearms and the sore booty, walking and general functioning isn’t an easy task. I say it’s a cramp, Cody claims it was mind powers, but in the middle of the lunch rush at WhichWich my sweet tea ended up all over my new dress. OK..so it wasn’t the first time that I have spilled something all over me in a public place. I just deal with it.

Finally, we get the word that I can get the car. So I met Cody in his room and began the 45 mile hike to the overflow lot where he had to park his car because OSU doesn’t believe parking our vehicles is a priority. On our way out of Kerr/Drummond I hit a spot of dark brown goo that someone had strategically placed in my path and did the splits in front of God and country in the KD Mezz. As I rushed to pull my skirt down, I looked at the group of guys standing beside me and tried to tell them I was practicing a dance move. (I know, this isn’t the 70’s, but hey…it was the first thought that came to my mind!)

In the mean time, Cody and I didn’t make it to the towing office before they closed, and the day ended with him recapping how “A cup exploded in your hand due to mind powers right before you did the splits in KD Mezz.”

As I’ve said before, “A normal day for me might just be a sign of the apocalypse.”

So how do we keep just dealing with it?

I think I’ve just started seeing the beauty in the unexpected. I’ve starting basking in the craziness of each and every day and I’ve learned to appreciate when things go so completely haywire that all you can do is throw your head back, laugh, and keep on marching.

Keep on marching: that is the key. In the very little Army experience that I’ve had thus far, the most successful aren’t the ones who hit the gym 3 times a day and chug protein shakes like it’s one of the basic food groups. It’s the ones who try not to notice how bad it hurts, they’re the ones who pull others along with them, it’s the ones who take  each training as an opportunity to make themselves better.

Tomorrow, I’m going to not care how bad something might hurt, I’m going to make a concerted effort to pull others up with me, and I’m going to do everything possible to become a better Emily.

 

-“Walk like a champion so people can see your confidence. Play like a man to get the job done. And always, no matter what, behave like a lady.” former Lt. Gov. of Oklahoma Jari Askins-

About embryant10

I am Emily Bryant. I am employed by Cadet Command in Army ROTC. I work with communications for ROTC. In my down time I go to Oklahoma State, work on my Army career, and hang out with my fiance and my roommates.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

